Kwankwaso, 10 Kano state lawmakers dump APC for PDP

Former governor of Kano state, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso, has on Tuesday reportedly defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, party to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

All efforts to confirm the reports proved difficult due to inability to get the affected people on phone. However, unconfirmed reports had it that Senator Kwankwaso defected with 10 Kano state lawmakers. His defection may not be unconnected with his previous ordeals in the ruling party in the state.

It would be recall that in March, last year, the leadership of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Kano State chapter, had initiated moves to suspend him over what it termed ‘anti-party activities.’

The then chairman, Kano chapter of the party, Alhaji Haruna Umar Doguwa, had told newsmen in Kano that the Senator had, during a visit to the state, allegedly exhibited actions capable of compromising the party’s unity.

According to Doguwa, “The case of party indiscipline by Kwankwaso would be thoroughly investigated and dealt with, in accordance with the constitution of our party.”

However, the true reason(s) why the Senator may have defected to the opposition party is yet to be ascertained. But it’s on record that sometime in November, 2013, 5 governors elected on the platform of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) decamped to the All Progressives Congress (APC). It was an unprecedented move in Nigeria’s political history and formed the foundation for APC’s victory at the 2015 general elections.

The governors, who led their supporters and political structures to APC, were Governors Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara), Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Rabiu Kwankwaso (Kano) and Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers). They were joined by other political heavyweights such as Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, Senator Bukola Saraki, along with then Speaker of the House of Representatives – Aminu Tambuwal, followed by Shaba Lafiagi, Mohammed Ndume, Danjuma Goje, Abdullahi Adam, Bindo Jubrilla and Abdullahi Gobir.

Others include Dr. Samuel Ortom, former Speaker Aminu Bello Masari, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu and Barrister Simon Lalong. In fact, of the 17 state governors elected on the platform of APC in Northern Nigeria only 7 are not ex-PDP members.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *