FG Approves Appointment Of 14 Chief Executives Of Tertiary Health Institutions

Nigeria’s Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, has approved the appointment of fourteen Chief Medical Directors and Medical Directors in Teaching Hospitals, Federal Medical Centres and Specialty Hospitals in Nigeria.

This was contained in an approval letter signed by the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Acting President and addressed to the Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Adewole.

Prof Adewole

The appointment, which takes immediate effect of 4 years’ tenure, is in two categories. Five of the appointees will be serving their second and final term, while the remaining nine will be serving their first tenure.

Names of the new chief executive officers and their health facilities are; Professor Bisala Ekele (University of Abuja Teaching Hospital, Gwagwalada); Dr V.A. Osiatuma (Federal Medical Centre, Asaba); Professor Idris Suleiman (Federal Medical Centre, Birnin-Kudu); Professor Abdus Musa (Federal Medical Centre, Abeokuta); Dr O.O. Alabi (Federal Medical Centre, Lokoja); Dr Adejuwon Dada (Federal Medical Centre, Ebute-Metta, Lagos); Dr Ibrahim Wakawa (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Maiduguri); Dr O.C. Ogun (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Lagos) and Dr Shehu Sale (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Sokoto).

The five that will be serving their second tenure are; Professor A.Z. Mohammed (Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano); Professor Anthony Igwegbe (Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital, Nnewi); Dr Wiza Inusa (Federal Medical Centre, Jalingo); Dr Joseph B. Okegbe (Federal Medical Centre, Calabar) and Dr. Sunday Olotu (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Uselu, Benin-City).

Director, Media and Public Relations for Federal Ministry of Health, Mrs. Boade Akinola, in a statement noted that the Minister of Health, while congratulating all the appointees, charged them to reciprocate the Federal Government’s gesture by taking their appointment as a “call to service” and ensure that they operate an all-inclusive administration that will promote efficiency, transparency and accountability.