PLASIEC suspends February 17 elections in Plateau

By Christiana Gokyo, Jos

Plateau State Independent Electoral Commission (PLASIEC) has put on hold the local government council election earlier schedule for Saturday, 17th February, 2018.

Chairman of the Commission, Mr. Fabian A. Ntung, disclosed this, while briefing newsmen in Jos, on Monday in his office.

According to him, the postponement of the election was in respect of the communication from the State Security Service, that the present security atmosphere in the State generally is not conducive for the conduct of the forthcoming Local Government Council elections in the State.

He said the letter advised the Commission to postpone the scheduled elections pending the return to a conducive atmosphere for the conduct of the exercise.

“In this regards, the Commission wishes to inform the general public, especially stakeholders in the political process in the State, that the local government elections have been postponed until further notice,” the Commission chairman said.

He noted that, before the communication by the State Security Services, the Commission has well prepared and fully mobilized towards the conduct of the election on the earliest schedule date.

He assured that, as soon as the Commission is again advised on the conducive nature of the security atmosphere in the State, a new date for the elections will be announced to the general public, and urged all those concerned to remain calm, and also apologized for any inconveniences the postponement might have caused them.

Meanwhile, the Commission had held a meeting with all chairmen of the political parties in the state, who have all accepted the development.

He said about 80 staffs have been trained by the Commission, and a hundred more is expected to be trained by next week, while over 7,800 are expected to be recruited as ad-hoc staffs to be engaged in, and would be sent for 3 days’ training.

He explained further that, 8 political parties are to participate in the election, APC and PDP has 325 councilors contesting, with 17 chairmanship aspirants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *